As part of the assessment process, pupils in need of intervention are identified and assigned a short term intervention program as required.

The aims of the GCSE in Mathematics are to enable students to:

  • develop fluent knowledge, skills and understanding of mathematical methods and concepts
  • acquire, select and apply mathematical techniques to solve problems
  • reason mathematically, make deductions and inferences, and draw conclusions
  • comprehend, interpret and communicate mathematical information in a variety of forms appropriate to the information and context.

The assessments for Mathematics will now cover the following content headings:

  1. Number
  2. Algebra
  3. Ratio, proportion and rates of change
  4. Geometry and measures
  5. Probability
  6. Statistics

Each student is permitted to take assessments in either the Foundation tier or Higher tier with three 1hr30min equally-weighted written examination papers (1 non-calculator and 2 calculator), which will be taken at the end of year 11.

The qualification will be graded and certificated on a nine-grade scale from 9 to 1 using the total mark across all three papers where 9 is the highest grade.

Foundation tier: grades 1 to 5.

Higher tier: grades 4 to 9 (grade 3 allowed).

To support pupils who find Maths challenging, we offer AQA Entry Level Maths, and Functional Maths Level 1 and Level 2. The rationale behind this, is to provide Maths at every level, with the view that all KS4, Year 11 pupils can move onto GCSE.  (add)

For more information: gcse-maths-2015-specification

Archway Academy
Learning Lane, The Avenue

Tel: 01642440225


Horizons Specialist Academy Trust is a company limited by guarantee (Company No 08608287) and exempt charity registered in England and Wales.

Website by Rivo Agency